Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from January, 2023

You're Only as Sexy as Your Diagnosis

As an aside, do you realize just how NOT SEXY a fatty liver is? I mean, sickness isn’t sexy in any situation, but telling someone you have a fatty liver is like putting all your embarrassing faults and habits out on display for public judgement.   You eat like trash.  You are a slovenly, sedentary lump.  You have no willpower.  You have no goals or ambitions or focus. You’re generally disgusting.  Oh. Bad liver? You must be a raging alcoholic.    Hate to break it to everyone, though, but some studies have estimated one-quarter to one-third of the population have an undiagnosed fatty liver. For many people, there are never symptoms. I only realized mine when they did CT scans looking for something else and then saw abnormal bloodwork. Oh, by the way, you have a fatty liver. (Insert the words you know are coming: Lose weight. Exercise.)   You know what’s even more unsexy? And downright scary? The abbreviation I saw in my doctor’s post-visit notes as...

The Numbers Game

My family doc and my gyn surgeon both sent consult requests to the GI folks after perusing my CT scan and my bloodwork. My liver enzymes (proteins that speed up chemical reactions in the body) are higher than they've ever been, which can signal liver injury of some kind. Cholesterol's higher than ever too.  78 AST [standard range 0-32] 86 ALT [standard range 0-33] 287 Cholesterol [desirable less than 200; high more than 240] 196 LDL Cholesterol [desirable less than 100; very high more than 190] And now we wait to hear from the GI folks. Maybe it's a good sign they haven't called yet. Maybe they looked at my numbers and didn't think I was on my deathbed. If that's truly the case, a note in my online chart would be helpful. In the meantime, what do I do to keep my liver from getting fattier and to possibly reverse the effects? Lose Weight I know. Broken record. But it's more than just seeing the pounds drop on the digital scale. It's pretty much a whole ne...

Big Words in the CT Scan Report

I was in the ER (for 12+ hours, but that's a story for another time) on January 2, trying to figure out why one month post-hysterectomy and three antibiotics later I was still in pain and showing signs of infection. Doctors tossed around words like "possible abscess" and "get extra tubes (of blood) in case we need them (to prep) for surgery to drain" said abscess. I drank oral contrast and they shot me up with IV contrast that made me feel like my whole body was being microwaved and like I was peeing my pants. Which, given all my recent UTI issues, wasn't entirely outside the realm of possibility.  Turns out, there was no post-op infection (other than perhaps a particularly nasty, drug-resistant bacterial UTI, courtesy the catheter inserted during the four-hour surgery). There wasn't much remarkable about anything on the abdominal scan, according to the report I read in my patient chart online the next day. Except three words written in the findings summ...